I write book reviews, I also write books, and occasionally I write about myself!

Friday, 3 June 2011

365 books in 365 days Challenge ... book #67

The next eight books I will be reviewing are part of the new continuity series from Mills and Boon titled BAD BLOOD. Each book is based on one member of the eight Wolfe siblings. Here is the copy for what this series is all about:

A powerful dynasty, where secrets and scandal never sleep!
Eight siblings, blessed with wealth, but denied the one thing they wanted - a father's love.
A family destroyed by one man's thirst for power.
Haunted by their past and driven to succeed, the Wolfes scattered to the far corners of the globe.
But secrets never sleep and scandal is starting to stir...
Now the Wolfe brothers are back, stronger than ever, but hiding hearts as hard as granite.
It's said that even the blackest souls can be healed by the purest of love...
But can the dynasty rise again?

I bought these direct from the Mills and Boon UK website where you can get all eight books. They are not all out on general sale yet. For readers in the North American market these will be released under the Harlequin Presents line in the mini-series titles 'The Notorious Wolfes', some of the titles will be different, and I'll add this info in if I can find it!

Tortured Rake - Sarah Morgan
Mills and Boon Modern Special Release
Harlequin Mills and Boon, 2011
ISBN: 9780263889581

My rating

From the back cover:

"Nathaniel…Icon. Celebrity. Heartthrob.
But underneath his movie-star good looks is a man battling with the demons of his past. No one knows the real Nathaniel, they only see the pin-up, the illusion he pretends to be.
Then one night he is forced to rely on Katie Field, an ordinary young woman from a very different world to Nathaniel's. She may be starstruck but she isn't blinded by the bright lights of fame. Can Nathaniel trust her enough to reveal the real man behind the mask? Let the seduction begin…"

At the beginning of this book the hero Nathaniel, a world famous Hollywood actor, is about to make his stage debut. Before he even opens his mouth for his first line he is frozen in shock at seeing someone he didn't expect in the audience. He walks off stage and runs (literally) into the play's costume designer Katie, the heroine. He begs her to help him escape before being noticed, sensing his distress and desperation Katie agrees and takes him to her place. Nathaniel was shocked after seeing his eldest brother Jacob in the audience, whom he hasn't seen in 20 years after Jacob ran out on the family after a horrifying incident. Katie doesn't know what to make of Nathaniel, she can see he is suffering from some trauma that he tries to hold in, and he refuses to open up to her always resorting back to his actor persona. Nathaniel whisks them away to a private island to escape the paparazzi (and his demons), where they begin an affair.

I had been looking forward to starting this series ever since it was released, with it being called BAD BLOOD I knew it was going to be dark, but boy I was not expecting it to be that dark. During these reviews I'm going to try not to reveal too much because trust me when those secrets and events are revealed they will shock you!
This was a fantastic start to the series, if it had stopped at this one I would have been a happy bunny, but from this example I can't wait to read the rest!

In this book Sarah Morgan has written two fantastic characters, neither of them overshadowed the other. Nathaniel is really well developed and every bit the tortured rake (see what I did there?!!), I really liked how he uses his acting as a way to hide from his demons, he slips seamlessly from disturbed to charming in the blink of an eye. I simply adored Katie's character, especially her bouts of endless nervous chatter, I was cringing along with her! She had some self esteem issues, which got a little annoying, but I can forgive this since she was in the presence of a famous actor. She managed to make Nathaniel more normal with her openness, they seem perfectly matched.
Those secrets and events that are revealed are explosive and written with great depth and sensitivity, the journey that is taken in this book is very emotional. Oh and that HEA, wow! just wow!

This is out now in the UK and is out this month in the US titled 'A Night of Scandal'.


No comments:

Post a Comment